JOURNAL 2011: HOME STUDIO

Saturday, October 29, 2011

It is nearly November and I have been remiss about keeping this blog updated. My last entry was in September, and as I stated during that time, my intention was to spend more time in my studio. That went well for several weeks until I realize that my ANM 104 Design Theory & Practice class was taking more of my time than I expected.

This is the first time teaching this particular class and one of my purposes in teaching the class was to do some revisions to the teaching methods to align to the methods of “Understanding By Design”. This is taking up most of my Saturdays, Sundays and Mondays each week. The good news is that next semester I will not need to spend so much time because the revisions will be done.

I have found a little time for studio work, though. I have been experimenting with some new techniques, some of which are now being exhibited in a solo exhibition at “The Transformations Center” in Kalamazoo, Michigan, along with some older work.

The Pine Cone's Story

The Watcher

After I finished “The Watcher” above I came across this quote from the illustrator Alan Lee. His words express my feelings and views exactly:

 “To draw a tree, to pay such close attention to every aspect of a tree, is an act of reverence not only toward the tree, and toward the earth itself, but also our human connection to it. This is one of the magical things about drawing — it gives us almost visionary moments of connectedness.” ALAN LEE

My mixed media piece “Dividing Sea and Sky” currently being exhibited at The Transformations Center has sold.

Dividing Sea and Sky

I am currently looking forward to my annual journey to The Netherlands in February to work with my artists friends there on the island of Ameland.

Leave a Reply

