JOURNAL 2011: HOME STUDIO

Sunday, November 6, 2011

At this posting I am recovering from the flu. I was not able to go to school on Friday, on Saturday I arranged for someone to take my place at Mass and today (Sunday) I’m starting to feel a little better, where I think I’ll try to get some school work accomplished. At least my mind is clear enough that I can think about school work to some degree.

In reflection, I think this “forced” time away from other responsibilities has been good for my mind if not my physical self. Maybe, all in all, the contracting the flu was my body’s way of saying that it needed some “alone time”. I had forgotten what it was like not to have a weekend that I did not work all the time.

I can not pretend to understand the “mind, spirit, body” connection and how it all works but I can’t help but wonder if some news I received earlier this week has anything to do with my body’s physical aliment. I wonder if this illness was a reaction to a great disappointment. I do not want to go into specifics, but it was not a personal disappointment, but one that influences the faculty and students of the Center for New Media. A disappointment that seems to have a “political” motivation. Of course, this is all speculation on my part, and I’m quite certain that whenever there is a hierarchy of administration there will always be political motives involved.

I have not yet been able to get back into the studio to do any work – I am hoping that I can began again next weekend. I have several pieces in-progress and a drawing exhibit on the calendar for The Ninth Wave Studio in January.

Leave a Reply

