JOURNAL 2013

Home Studio: October 9th

Last night I was able to do my second and third etch in my Lithography class at the KIA. As I was reading over my post from yesterday I realized I want to clarify the steps of the etching procedure. In my last post I gave an overview of what is applied during the etching process, below is a more detailed step by step process:

1. Talc is applied to the image and wiped off with a cotton wipe.

2. Gum Arabic is applied to the image with a brush and worked over the image for 2 minutes.

a. The Gum Arabic is wipe off with a damp sponge

b. The image is buffed down with cheesecloth

3. A mixture of Tannic Acid and Gun Arabic is applied to the image with a brush and worked over the image for 3 minutes.

a. The mixture is wipe off with a damp sponge

b. The image is buffed down with cheesecloth

Note: I used a mixture of 1 part Gum Arabic to 2 parts Tannic Acid for my second etch

4. Gum Arabic is applied again to the image with a brush and worked over the image for 2 minutes.

a. The Gum Arabic is wipe off with a damp sponge

b. The image is buffed down with cheesecloth

Second Etch: Adding the Talc

Second Etch: Adding the Talc

 

Second Etch: After the application procedure

Second Etch: After the etching application procedure

Before I did my second etch I wanted to try to remove a black blob that was under the right eye of the figure. In my last post I explained that water was accidentally splashed onto my plate which caused a black blob to appear. I was able to remove it by rubbing over it using a stone stylus before I started my second etch procedure.

The next thing that I needed to do is called the “Roll-Up”. This is where the image is removed and then Ink is rolled onto the image.

1. Wait 30 minutes after the plate is etched.

2. Lithotine is applied liberallyto the plate until the image is completely washed out

a. Several clean cotton paper towels are used to wipe off the residue completely (this is messy)

3. A small amount of Asphaltum  is put on a clean cotton paper towel and applied to the plate and rubbed into the image

a. The image is buffed down with cheesecloth

b. The plate is washed over with a wet (damp) clean cotton paper towel

c. The excess water is wiped up with a damp sponge

Note: The Asphaltum creates a printing base for the Ink. I found it helpful to thin the Asphaltum a little with Lithotine.

4. The Roll-Up process follows immediately by rolling ink on the image with a ink brayer.

a. Ink is applied by briskly rolling the brayer over the image.

b. Between applications the image should be wiped with a damp sponge.

Note. Each application consists of about 6 brisk rolls of the brayer in various directions, with a total of about 6 separate applications.

I’m sorry to say that I didn’t think to take a photo of the image after the Asphaltum was applied.

Second Etch: After Second Roll-Up

Second Etch: After Second Roll-Up

Second Etch: After Second Roll-Up –Close Up

Second Etch: After Second Roll-Up –Close Up

 

Because I altered the plate by trying to remove the black blob I needed to do a third etch. I modified the application procedure of the third etch by doing something called a spot etch. Basically that means applying the etching mixture to isolated areas on the image. I spot etched the background and the area under the right eye. After the etching mixture was moved around these areas with a brush for about 1.5 minutes I wiped it down and applied the etching mixture to the entire image for three minutes.

Third Etch: Adding the Talc

Third Etch: Adding the Talc

 

Third Etch: After the Third Etch application procedure

Third Etch: After the etching application procedure

If you compare this final image with the image from my first etch you can see a good difference in the value. Now the plate is ready to be inked for printing.

Leave a Reply

