JOURNAL 2016

ALCHEMY INITIATIVE

Exhibition Piece: August 28, 2016

Figure Study_001

I am encouraged with what has been happening as I work more on the composition of this artwork. This is a preliminary figure study and below is my first try at putting things together for this full figure composition. Although I am somewhat happy with the pose – I now think the model’s right hand should be in front of the figure resting on her belly.

Currently I’m thinking that there will be plant life throughout the entire composition – we will see how that turns out. The circles and lines that appear in red are from a medieval diagram of the proportions of the male figure. I plan to adjust that to align with the model’s figure proportion when I have her completely drawn out. For now I’m calling this composition “In The Garden”.

Exploration_004 Thumb

654f4f7667547fe0a4f0bfa2e0488e31I will be leaving for Ireland on Thursday, September 8th. While I’m in Ireland I will be doing more drawings of plant life for this composition. The portion of the plant life drawings I have already finished are from photos I took in a hazel forest when I was in Ireland before.

https://cdncache-a.akamaihd.net/store/

Leave a Reply

